Enneagram relationships

The Enneagram can be used as a powerful tool to help understand yourself and others through this challenging gamut we call life. Ennea (nine) and grammos (a written symbol), Enneagram represents a construct of nine distinct personality types of the soul that once self discovered, can accelerate your understanding about yourself, how you relate to others and how others relate to you. Each Enneagram type has a different trigger and priority of thinking, feeling and reaction that stems from the core and affects relationships. What makes them tick? What is important to us? What makes you react like you do? 

The roots of the Enneagram are believed to be ancient, tapping into something universal – the nature of the soul. The insights it reveals can be life changing. Very simplistically and to wet your appetite, the nine personality types can be described as:

1 THE REFORMER (Perfectionist): The need to be perfect. Type: Principle, purpose, perfection. Basic Fear: Imbalance. When redeemed (healthy growth) will take on healthy 7 tendencies. When unredeemed (stressed) will take on unhealthy 4 tendencies

2 THE HELPER (Giver): The need to be needed. Type: Caring, generous, people-pleasing. Basic Fear: Being unloved. Redeemed goes to 4. Unredeemed goes to 8.

3 THE ACHIEVER (Performer): The need to be validated. Type: Adaptive, driven, image-conscious. Basic Fear: Worthlessness. Redeemed goes to 6. Unredeemed goes to 9.

4 THE INDIVIDUALIST (Romantic): The need to feel unique. Type: Expressive, dramatic, self-absorbed, temperamental. Basic Fear: Insignificance. Redeemed goes to 1. Unredeemed goes to 2.

5 THE INVESTIGATOR (Observer): The need to understand: Perceptive, innovative, sensitive, isolated. Basic Fear: Helplessness. Redeemed goes to 8. Unredeemed goes to 7.

6 THE LOYALIST (Sceptic): The need to be secure. Type: Engaging, responsible, anxious, suspicious. Basic Fear: Insignificance. Redeemed goes to 9. Unredeemed goes to 3.

7 THE ENTHUSIAST (Epicure): The need to have fun. Type: Spontaneous, versatile, distractible. Basic Fear: Pain. Redeemed goes to 5. Unredeemed goes to 1.

8 THE CHALLENGER (Protector): The need to control/challenge. Type: Self-confident, leaders, confrontational. Basic Fear: Being harmed. Redeemed goes to 2. Unredeemed goes to 5.

9 THE PEACEMAKER (Mediator): The need to have stability. Type: Easy going, agreeable, complacent. Basic Fear: Loss and separation. Redeemed goes to 1. Unredeemed goes to 2.


Of course we have all types within us, but one is considered the driving force. Many good websites can be found online like www.enneagraminstitute.com to help guide you on your journey of self discovery.

Have fun and let the exploration begin!

Image Credit: Enneagram Europe

Issue 49 NavigationARE YOU CALLED TO ASSIST IN CHILDBIRTH? >>A Maui Mama & Creator of R3byARI is Featured in Swimsuit Illustrated! >>


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here